« After 4 year’s at Stanford \\\\\
Then why did you buy the book??? »
Freaking WHOIS
August 26th, 2007 | by Reid |So during winter break of my Sophomore year, Harry, who is in China, IM’s me and tells me that he can’t register harryzhong.com, because China’s firewall prevents him from going through with the transaction. Since I’m a nice guy, I register the domain name for him, and fill our the appropriate information so he can start building his website.
Now, a few years later, I’ve learned about WHOIS and lo and behold, if you do a search for harryzhong.com, this pops up:
See: http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=harryzhong&tld=com
Registration Service Provided By: 2mhost co.Contact: sales@2mhost.com Domain name: harryzhong.com Registrant Contact: Reid Yokoyama (harryzhong@**********.com)+1.916715****Fax:673 Escondido Road Rm 350Stanford, CA 94309US Administrative Contact: Reid Yokoyama (harryzhong@**********.com)+1.916715****Fax:673 Escondido Road Rm 350Stanford, CA 94309US Technical Contact: Reid Yokoyama (harryzhong@*********.com)+1.916715****Fax:673 Escondido Road Rm 350Stanford, CA 94309US Status: Locked Name Servers:ns1.2msrv23.comns2.2msrv23.com Creation date: 04 Aug 2004 14:53:54Expiration date: 04 Aug 2008 14:53:54
Lame. Good thing the address is my old Kimball dorm room from Sophomore year and that the cell phone number is Harry’s and not mine. Information on the internet is so public!!
